Award for Contribution to Professional Practice



Background Prize Criteria Judging
Past winners Eligibility/Conditions Annual timeframe How to enter



In a move to encourage and acknowledge professionalism within the Australian ELICOS sector, English Australia and Pearson jointly offer an annual award for professional practice in ELICOS. The Award for Contribution to Professional Practice is awarded to the person whose paper, accepted for and presented at the annual English Australia Conference, best meets the specified criteria.



The winner receives:

  • a ticket to the English Australia Conference Gala Awards dinner to receive their award
  • a certificate
  • an engraved trophy

The winner will be profiled on the English Australia and Pearson websites and can use the English Australia Award Winner logo.

All finalists receive a Certificate of Nomination from English Australia.



The winner's paper and presentation will demonstrate that they have reflected on their practice as an ELICOS teacher and have identified a number of useful and practical solutions to a particular issue.

Criteria for the award are that the paper (max. 2500 words):

  • provides practical support in teaching English language to international students within the context of Australian ELICOS;
  • addresses the theme of the conference;
  • is based on current TESOL/applied linguistics theory, recent research and practice;
  • is an original, previously unpublished work by the author;
  • is written by an author who is based in Australia and who has not published any major titles with a similar area of focus.



A shortlist of up to four finalists is selected by the English Australia Conference Program Committee. The finalists' papers are evaluated by a panel of independent TESOL professionals.


Past winners

2017 - Melinda Gamlen, Adelaide University English Language Centre 

2016 - Sandra Caon-Parsons & Paula Dimmell, English Language Centre, Professional & Continuing Education, The University of Adelaide

2015 - Jose Lara & Lesley Speer, Macquarie University English Language Centre, NSW

2014 - Vicki Bos, ICTE-UQ, QLD

2013 - Karen Benson, Julijana Stepanova & Amanda Eads - Strathfield College, NSW

2012 - Barbara Craig & Sandra Pitronaci - Macquarie University English Language Institute, NSW

2011 - Juliana Kendi - La Trobe Melbourne, VIC

2010 - Peter Copeman - University of Canberra, ACT

2009 - Ian Johnson - Griffith English Language Institute, QLD

2008 - Andrew Foley - South Australian College of English, SA

2007 - Denise Norton - Deakin University English Language Institute, VIC

Click here for details of past winners.



The Award is open to anyone employed by an organisation registered on CRICOS to deliver ELICOS.

Current members of the English Australia Board and employees of English Australia are not eligible, however staff working for colleges represented by English Australia Board members may apply.

Winners of other English Australia awards are welcome to apply for this award. Previous winners of this award are eligible to apply for this award however cannot nominate projects or initiatives that have already won an English Australia Award.

The Award is only open to authors who are based in Australia and who have not published any major titles with a similar area of focus.

All finalists must be available to attend the awards dinner, where they will be guests of Pearson.


Annual timeframe

Submit abstract to English Australia Conference (abstract submissions open in mid-March 2018)

Abstract is accepted & presenters are invited to nominate for the Award (July)

Submit paper to English Australia (late August)

Shortlist is selected then winning paper is selected

Present paper at the English Australia Conference in Sydney, NSW (September 2018)

Award is presented at the English Australia Conference in Sydney, NSW (September 2018)


How to enter

Those successfully submitting an abstract for the academic program of the 2018 English Australia Conference will be invited to submit a paper for consideration for the 2018 award. 

For more information contact at English Australia.


English Australia would like to thank Pearson for its generous and ongoing support of this Award.