John Gallagher Professional Bursary

Background Prize Criteria Judging
Past winners Eligibility/Conditions Annual timeframe How to nominate



The John Gallagher Memorial Professional Bursary was established by the English Australia Board in 2003 to recognise the contribution to the sector made by John Gallagher, ELICOS Sector Executive Officer within the then Department of Education, Science and Training, for seven years before he passed away in 2003.

The Bursary, funded by English Australia, was set up to recognise an outstanding contribution to ELICOS made by an individual working for an English Australia member college in any department of the organisation: administration, accommodation/welfare services, marketing, teaching or management.



The winner receives: 

  • a framed certificate from English Australia;
  • a return airfare to the 2018 English Australia Conference in Sydney;
  • one night's accommodation at the Conference hotel;
  • one full 2018 English Australia Conference registration;
  • a ticket to the English Australia Conference gala awards dinner.

The winner is profiled on the English Australia website and can use the English Australia Award Winner logo to promote their win.



The bursary is awarded to the person who has made the most significant contribution to the ELICOS sector above and beyond their normal role at their college. The judges will be evaluating:

  • recent contributions made by nominees; and
  • the impact of those contributions on their college and on ELICOS at a local, state or national level.



The winner is selected by the English Australia Executive Director together with a representative of the Australian Government Department of Education.


Past winners

2017 - Nicki Blake, Director of Studies, Kaplan International Perth.  

2017 - The highly commended award winner was Sarah Bissell, Senior Manager – Learning and Teaching, Griffith English Language Institute (GELI).

2016 - John Smith, Griffith English Language Institute (GELI), QLD

2015 - Joanne Kwai - AMEP Case manager, TAFE Queensland, Southbank Campus, QLD

2014 - Molly Bonnefin - Manager, Student Experience and Homestay, Monash University English Language Centre, VIC

2013 - Jenelle Klintworth - Manager, Student Services - RMIT English Worldwide, VIC

2012 - Usha Rao - Director, Student Services & Admissions -La Trobe Melbourne, VIC

2011 - Stephanie Schembri - Teacher - CELUSA, SA 

2010 - Ann Simons - Manager, Admissions - Hawthorn-Melbourne, Vic 

2009 - Carol Aeschliman - Leader E-Learning - Swinburne University English Language Centre, Vic

2008 - Lisa Barrett - Director, Assessment - Centre for Macquarie English, NSW

2007 - Marie Gorman - Student Services Manager - Phoenix English Language Academy, WA

2006 - Jake Garman - Teacher - ACL Darwin English Centre, NT

2004 - Damian Connell - Teacher - Milner International College of English, WA

Click here for more details of past winners.



The Bursary is open to anyone employed by an English Australia member college. Nominations must be supported by an authorised representative eg Director, Director of Studies/Academic Manager.

Current members of the English Australia Board are not eligible for consideration, however any other employees of their college are. Winners of other English Australia awards are welcome to apply for this award. Previous winners of this award are eligible to apply for this award however cannot nominate projects or initiatives that have already won an English Australia Award.


Annual timeframe

Nominations open (April)

Nominations close (June)

Winner selected and informed (end July)

Award presented (English Australia Conference 2018 in Sydney, NSW)


How to nominate

To nominate someone for this award, complete the application form and supporting text.

Nominations must be received by COB Tues 5 June, 2018. Please email them to the PD Manager at English Australia:


Questions? Contact or phone (02) 9264 4700